Influenza Update Meetings

‌‌General IUM

Influenza Update Meetings are held annually at locations across the UK in order to support and strengthen the influenza research community. They aim to be affordable, friendly and accessible to researchers at all career stages, with an emphasis on active involvement from students and postdocs.


14th – 15th December 2020, online


Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, this year’s meeting will be held online on the afternoon of Monday 14th and morning of Tuesday 15th December. The meeting is open for discussion around all areas of influenza virus research and aims to strengthen connections between influenza researchers in the UK even in these challenging times. As on previous occasions, preference will be given to abstracts submitted by early career researchers.


Cost:                  Free

Registration:    Details available soon

Abstracts:        Details available soon

Keynote talk: “The virus writes the rules”: influenza, pandemics, and the intersection of science and history. Mark Honigsbaum (City, University of London)


2020 Meeting Committee: James Stewart (University of Liverpool), Janet Daly (University of Nottingham) and Ed Hutchinson (MRC-University of Glasgow Centre for Virus Research)


Steering Group Members


Sharon Brookes (Animal and Plant Health Agency)

Sara Clohisey (Roslin Institute, University of Edinburgh)

Janet Daly (University of Nottingham)

Paul Digard (Roslin Institute, University of Edinburgh)

Sunetra Gupta (Department of Zoology, University of Oxford)

Ed Hutchinson (MRC-University of Glasgow Centre for Virus Research)

Munir Iqbal (Pirbright Institute)

Tess Lambe (Jenner Institute, University of Oxford)

John McCauley (Francis Crick Institute)

Nicole Robb (University of Warwick)

Holly Shelton (Pirbright Institute)

James Stewart (University of Liverpool)

Jack Tan (MRC Human Immunology Unit, University of Oxford)

Nigel Temperton (Medway School of Pharmacy, University of Kent)

Rachel Ulferts (Francis Crick Institute)

AJ te Velthuis (Department of Pathology, University of Cambridge)

Yohei Yamauchi (University of Bristol)


Recent Meetings


2nd December 2019: The Francis Crick Institute, London

17th – 18th December 2018: Emmanuel College, University of Cambridge

21st – 22nd November 2017: The Roslin Institute, University of Edinburgh


We gratefully acknowledge the support provided for these meetings by

the Microbiology Society and AstraZeneca.


Image Credit: Naina Nair, Glasgow School of Art