The Kelvingrove Review

The Kelvingrove Review

The Kelvingrove Review (ISSN 1757-2649) is a sister publication to eSharp.  In line with eSharp's commitment to publishing innovative and rigorous cross-disciplinary academic research, The Kelvingrove Review offers a site for critical analysis of recent scholarly work in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and education. Each issue has a theme, often linked to that of the current issue of eSharp

All issues are available for browsing and downloading from the links to the left. Our next issue will be launched in June 2017.

If you would like to get involved with eSharp or The Kelvingrove Review we always welcome new members and contributors. We can be contacted at esharp@gla.ac.uk.

Call for Reviewers

Call for Reviewers

The call for reviewers for The Kelvingrove Review is now open.

The Kelvingrove Review is an online academic review journal focusing on critical analyses of contemporary and innovative scholarly and fictional works in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and beyond.

The theme of our 17th issue is (Re)Creation.

TKR will be launched together with the 26th issue of eSharp in June 2018.

All reviews are by postgraduate students at the University of Glasgow.

We have selected an exciting list of books as well as new media, including film, television, and radio to match this issue’s theme of (Re)Creation:

No Is Not Enough: Defeating the New Shock Politics, by Naomi Klein (Penguin Random House, June 2017)

Utopia for Realists: And How We Can Get There, by Rutger Bregman (Bloomsbury, May 2017)

Women & Power: A Manifesto, by Mary Baird (Profile, November 2017)

The Amateur: The Pleasure of Doing What You Love, by Andy Merrifield (Verso, May 2017)

Stay With Me, by Ayobami Adebayo (Canongate, March 2017) 

Norse Mythology, by Neil Gaiman (Bloomsbury, February 2017)

Somebody I Used To Know: Dementia From The Inside, by Wendy Mitchell (Bloomsbury, January 2018)

Arthur and Sherlock: Conan Doyle and the Creation of Holmes, by Michael Sims (Bloomsbury, January 2017)

Facsimilization, exhibition of Alasdair Grey (The Lighthouse, February/March 2018) 

Annihilation (film), directed by Alex Garland (Paramount Pictures, February 2018; available on Netflix 12 March)

Queer Eye, created by David Collins (Netflix, February 2018)

Reviewing is an excellent introduction to the publication cycle for postgraduates. If you are interested in reviewing any one of the works above, or if you have something else relevant to our theme in mind, please see the guide for reviewers on our website: www.glasgow.ac.uk/tkr.

To apply please send an email with the subject line ‘TKR Application’ to esharp@gla.ac.uk with the following information:

-  Your name and contact details (student email)

-  Your course of study

-  The work(s) you would like to review

-  A brief biography where you describe your research interests

Books and media will be assigned to reviewers on the basis of relevance to field of interest. Reviews should be approximately 1,000 words in length. Closing date for registration of interest is the 19th of March 2018. Reviewers will be contacted with further details within a few days of the closing date. Demand for books is normally high.

We look forward to hearing from you!

Guide for Reviewers

Guide for Reviewers

If you are interested in becoming a reviewer, you need to be registered as a postgraduate student at the University of Glasgow and must be able to collect the book from either the Glasgow or Crichton campus.

Non-themed reviews - We accept unsolicited reviews of academic texts in the arts, humanities, social sciences and education at all times of year. Reviews will be considered for the next available publication date.

Themed reviews - Twice yearly we send out calls for reviewers for specific books, which always tie in with the most recent eSharp theme. You must be able to collect the book from either the Glasgow or Crichton campus.

All reviews should:

  • be written in English or Scots
  • be original work of around 1,000 words (plus or minus 10%)
  • relate to academic texts published within the last 2 years, preferably within the last year 
  • follow the eSharp style guide, which can be found here
  • themed reviews should adhere to the Kelvingrove Review submission deadline