National and Kapodistrian University of Athens

Building of the National & Kapodistrian University of Athens in Panepistimio

The National and Kapodistrian University of Athens (NKUA), founded in 1837 was the first university to be established in the entire Balkan Peninsula and the Eastern Mediterranean. It is Greece’s first, historic and most distinguished university with more than 3,000 staff and 40,000 students. Since the foundation of NKUA most PMs, Presidents of the Republic of Greece as well as several Ministers and Supreme Court Judges have been its students and/or Professors. The Faculty of Economics and Political Science at NKUA holds significant expertise in South European studies; it is home to four academic departments (Political Science and Public Administration, Economics, Media and Communication, Turkish and Modern Asian Studies) as well as the core area studies journal dedicated to the study of the region, South European Society and Politics (SESP).