Jennifer Challinor

Email j.challinor.1@research.gla.ac.uk
University of Glasgow, Dumfries Campus, Rutherford/McCowan Building, Bankend Road, Dumfries DG1 4ZL, Scotland

Twitter: @JennifChallinor

linkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/jenniferchallinor/

Research title: Innovation in Community Models of 'Housing with care

Research Summary

Thesis Title: 

Innovative models of community housing with care

My research is looking at how emerging community-led housing models, support and provide caring communities for older adults.

Supervisors:

Publications

 

Supervisors

External supervisors

 

Grants

 

Conference

 

Teaching

 

Additional Information

I have a BA (Hons) in Anthropology from The University Of Durham, and an MA in Development Studies, from the University of Melbourne in Australia. Since graduation, I have spent the last 20 years in the not-for-profit sector, working in community development and project evaluation in the UK and internationally. For the last 15 years, I have been based in Scotland managing and evaluating a diverse range of projects from rural mental health initiatives, housing association care homes, to national early years support programmes. 

My current work role is as the project lead for the Care Campus project. This innovate project works with stakeholders and partners to explore the feasibility of developing an intergenerational caring community, mixed-tenure homes, a walking neighbourhood and combining green home technology with connected smart homes on the Crichton in Dumfries. We have also been working with individuals, communities, and stakeholders across the region to understand how we can co-produce projects to make Dumfries and Galloway the best place to grow old.

I am also an active volunteer board member, and start-up co-founded on two social enterprises, one providing employability support to young people with ASD and another that running inclusive, intergenerational, and accessible community art workshops. I have a passion for supporting communities to innovate and helping to make places and spaces welcoming, accessible and inclusive. I am also a fellow of the Royal Society of the Arts (FSRA)

I can often be found on campus, studying, working, and walking my dog. I live with my family in a small village just outside Dumfries.

LinkedIn Profile: https://www.linkedin.com/in/jenniferchallinor/