Research Culture Awards 2019


Research Culture Awards

Research Culture Awards

Help us celebrate the colleagues who are creating a positive research culture.

At the University of Glasgow, we recognise that good research thrives in an environment in which colleagues support each other to succeed. For 2019, we are launching the Research Culture Awards,  four awards to celebrate outstanding activities that promote collegial behaviours among researchers and contribute to a positive research culture.

Collegiality includes acting as a role model or leading on initiatives to promote:

  • A collegial culture, which supports others to succeed. Examples include participating in mock panels or peer review panels, contributing to career development activities for early career researchers, supporting co-authorship and co-investigator status on grants, sharing contacts and networks (e.g. relating to impact-generating activities), passing on opportunities to earlier career or less senior colleagues to present or participate in meetings or conferences, and nominating colleagues for external recognition.
  • Good research culture at UofG level. Examples might include sharing best practice or leading / delivering support that goes beyond an immediate research group or subject, contributing to policy or external initiatives (e.g. through professional bodies, Equality Charters and learned societies).
  • Good research practice and research that is more open, honest and transparent, thus supporting colleagues to show collegiality towards the community at large.

This award also reinforces the revised focus of the 2019/20 academic promotion criteria, which sets the expectation that senior colleagues share their expertise and knowledge across all research dimensions – including outputs, award generation, PGR supervision, and impact.

Prize winners will be announced at the annual grant-award ceremony hosted by the Principal on 10th June 2019

Eligibility and criteria

  • Nominees must be current members of UofG staff and can be nominated by UofG research staff and/or students. The award is open to any member of staff, from any job family, who has made a strong contribution to the research culture. Research is interpreted here in the broadest sense, to include impact and innovation.
  • Team nominations are permitted. Teams may span more than one academic unit or College. 
  • Submissions must refer to activities undertaken within the last three years: from January 2016 to December 2018. The nominated staff member need not have been in post at UofG for the entire three years or necessarily be in post in June 2019. 

Four awards are available each year.  A personal prize of £600 is available for each award.

Nomination procedure

Nominations should be via the application form below and comprise:

  • A statement of (maximum) 500 words; and
  • (Optionally) Up to two pages of additional material. Formats for this additional material can vary, but might include endorsements, event feedback, resources, webpages, or policy documents.

The supporting material should outline what the nominee(s) has done and why the award is deserved, as well as some evidence of the impact of activities. This evidence should also highlight the way in which the activities have been undertaken to promote equality, diversity and inclusion.

Nominations will be showcased on the University of Glasgow webpages to share approaches and best practice across the University. Please mark any supporting material as confidential, if you do not wish this to be shared. Email your submission to Heather Clayson (PA to the Vice Principal for Research) by 5pm on 1st May 2019.

If you have any queries on the nomination process, please contact Elizabeth Adams (Research and Innovation Services).

Research Culture Awards Application Form

 Judging panel

  • Miles Padgett, Vice-Principal for Research and Kelvin Chair of Natural Philosophy, CHAIR (College of Science and Engineering)
  • Jude Robinson, Deputy Head of College (College of Social Sciences) 
  • Gerard Graham, Professor of Molecular and Structural Immunology (Immunology) and Research Integrity Champion (College of MVLS)
  • Karen Lury, Professor of Film and TV Studies (College of Arts)
  • Fergus Brown, Head of Human Resources (College of MVLS)
  • Elizabeth Adams, Researcher Development Manager, Research and Innovation Services
  • Karen Siegel, Lord Kelvin Adam Smith Fellow in Politics (College of Social Sciences) 
  • Tom McLeish, Professor of Natural Philosophy, University of York