People Make Research

In 2022, the University of Glasgow introduced the 'People Make Research' initiative, recognising individuals making positive contributions across the research community.

This annual project aims to recognise and thank the people who contribute to our thriving research environment. It is an informal way to collect, share and celebrate practical examples of good practice creating positive cultures, for example from our Supervisors, Principal Investigators and Research Professional colleagues. The People Make Research Project runs annually and is open for nominations through April and May each year.

Research Culture Award Winners 2021

The University of Glasgow's Research Culture Awards were run in 2019-2021 to recognise and celebrate activities which promote collegiality and contribute to a positive Research Culture. Read more about the winners here.


The judges also highly commended the following nominations:

Qammer H. Abbasi

For influencing early career researchers and supporting senior colleagues through his excellent coordinative and collegial personality. Colleagues have described Qammer has highly collaborative and always willing to offer support. Qammer is known to go above and beyond to help in sharing funding opportunities, preparing proposals and sharing industrial and academic contacts. He has carried out a highly impactful research work on diabetes, non-invasive contact sensing, 5G Healthcare. Qammer sets an example of an inclusive leader, researcher, colleague, and academic and has nurtured a vibrant research culture at UofG.

Lizelle Bischoff

For the enthusiastic contribution of her expertise and experience to the promotion of Equality, Diversity and Inclusivity at College/University and School levels; and the development of collaborative projects on African cinema, women filmmakers and film festivals which support colleagues and reach out to various external partners. Colleagues have described Lizelle as having energetic devotion to developing research on African cinema in a collegial manner and is celebrated for her positive energies and team leadership skills.


Stephanie Rainey, CVR, Lilach Scheiner, III, Virginia Howick, BAHCM, Greg Weir, INP, Michele Hilton-Boon, IHW, Stacy Robertson, ICAMS, Julia Cordero, Beatson, Jo Birch and (formerly) Oliver Maddocks, ICS

For lobbying for ECR priorities at MVLS College Management and for building a bi-direction communication channel across MVLS institutes. The group have come together to represent the interests of the ECR community and improve the experience of all ECRs across the College of MVLS. Some achievements can already be seen, such as facilitating enhanced clarity about the process of contract extension post furlough and lobbying for the removal of penalty period between applications for grade 6 to 7 promotion.

Research Culture Awards 2021

Dr Chris Halsey, Dr Mia Perry, Dr Lorraine Work and Susie Smillie talk about their approaches to improving the research culture within the University.