Athena SWAN Award Successes

Athena SWAN Award Successes

Issued: Tue, 17 Oct 2017 06:56:00 BST

The University of Glasgow has received four Athena SWAN awards, including two new Bronze awards, one new Silver award and the renewal of an existing Silver award. These awards, made by the Equality Challenge Unit, are given in recognition of an ongoing commitment to gender equality for all staff and students.

This announcement takes the University to eighteen Athena SWAN awards in total - one institutional Bronze plus a further seventeen comprising four Silver and 13 Bronze awards at school or research institute level.

The new awards include the first Arts and Social Sciences applications to be submitted under the expanded Athena SWAN Charter:

•    School of Geographical and Earth Sciences- New Silver Award
•    Institute of Health and Well-Being - Silver Renewal
•    School of Humanities/ Sgoil nan Daonnachdan - New Bronze Award
•    School of Interdisciplinary Studies - New Bronze Award

It has also been announced that the University of Glasgow has been invited to host the Athena SWAN awards ceremony on 4 December 2017 for all those receiving awards in UK Higher Education Institutions for this round.

Professor Anne Anderson, Vice-Principal, Head of the College of Social Sciences and Gender Champion of the University, said: “I would like to congratulate all those involved who helped to achieve these awards - it is great news for the entire University.

“I am delighted too to see the university being recognised with our first Humanities and Social Sciences Athena SWAN awards since the gender equality charter scheme was extended to cover non-STEM subjects. We will continue this work to broaden the scheme and good practice in gender equality across the whole University family.”

Dr David Duncan, Chief Operating Officer and University of Glasgow Secretary of Court, said: “"We are delighted to see the huge amount of work that goes into advancing gender equality at the University recognised through the recent Athena SWAN awards.  While we continue to make progress, we recognise there is more to do as part of our overall approach to promoting equality and fairness for all."

It takes 10 months to a year of preparation for a school or research institute to submit an award, so four awards in one round is a great achievement for the University’s staff and students.

There are three levels of Athena SWAN awards: Bronze (planning), Silver (doing), Gold (sustaining).

The University of Glasgow was first awarded an institutional Athena SWAN Bronze Award in April 2013.