Classes for MVLS students

Classes for MVLS students

Classes take place several times per week to give you a chance to find a slot to suit your timetable. You can come to as many or as few classes as you wish.

Each class has a matching Moodle page where you can find the slides, plus a range of short videos, advice pages, and practice questions where appropriate.

There's no need to enrol (unless mentioned in the class description), so just show up to the venue.

These are open to any students in the College of MVLS, and some are also advertised to students in the College of Science and Engineering, so you'll find a mixed audience. Class sizes can range from fewer than 10 to more than 50 people, depending on the topic.

Topics, dates and times are detailed below.

Academic Writing & Study Skills Series

Class title

Date Choices and Venues

Structure and Flow

It’s easy to forget that your reader won’t always know much about your topic. We’ll discuss ways to make your scientific argument easier to follow.

Week 4

Mon 09 Oct  11:00 - 12:00  (709 Boyd Orr)

Tue 10 Oct  12:00 - 13:00  (204 Sir Alexander Stone)

Wed 11 Oct  13:00 - 14:00  (709 Boyd Orr)

Thu 12 Oct 12:00 - 13:00  (355 Gilbert Scott / Main Bldg)

Introductions and Conclusions

It’s crucial to set some expectations for your reader at the start of your work, and to wrap up in an academic style. We’ll look at some examples.

Week 5

Mon 16 Oct  11:00 - 12:00  (709 Boyd Orr)

Tue 17 Oct  12:00 - 13:00  (204 Sir Alexander Stone)

Wed 18 Oct  13:00 - 14:00  (709 Boyd Orr)

Thu 19 Oct 12:00 - 13:00  (355 Gilbert Scott / Main Bldg)

Referencing and Plagiarism

In this class, you’ll learn how to sound like a member of an academic community, and see how to cite according to the University’s requirements.​

Week 6

Mon 23 Oct  11:00 - 12:00  (709 Boyd Orr)

Tue 24 Oct  12:00 - 13:00  (204 Sir Alexander Stone)

Wed 25 Oct  13:00 - 14:00  (709 Boyd Orr)

Thu 26 Oct 12:00 - 13:00  (355 Gilbert Scott / Main Bldg)

Lab Report Writing

Based on research into what Glasgow staff and students expect of lab reports, we’ll talk about how to present your results and link them to theory.

Week 7

Mon 30 Oct  11:00 - 12:00  (709 Boyd Orr)

Tue 31 Oct  12:00 - 13:00  (204 Sir Alexander Stone)

Wed 01 Nov  13:00 - 14:00  (709 Boyd Orr)

Thu 02 Nov 12:00 - 13:00  (355 Gilbert Scott / Main Bldg)

Revision Strategies

We’ll look at what the published evidence suggests are the best ways to manage your study materials between now and the day of the exam.​.

Week 8

Mon 13 Nov  11:00 - 12:00  (709 Boyd Orr)

Tue 14 Nov  12:00 - 13:00  (204 Sir Alexander Stone)

Wed 15 Nov  13:00 - 14:00  (709 Boyd Orr)

Thu 16 Nov 12:00 - 13:00  (355 Gilbert Scott / Main Bldg)

Dealing with Procrastination

Procrastinating? Stuck in your old routine? Come along prepared to share your bad habits. No confession is too ridiculous. Totally judgment free!

Week 9

Mon 20 Nov  11:00 - 12:00  (709 Boyd Orr)

Tue 21 Nov  12:00 - 13:00  (204 Sir Alexander Stone)

Wed 22 Nov  13:00 - 14:00  (709 Boyd Orr)

Thu 23 Nov 12:00 - 13:00  (355 Gilbert Scott / Main Bldg)


Critical Analysis Series (Honours and PGT Students)

Class title

Date Choices and Venues

Anatomy of a Scientific Paper

Designed for students who may not have had much experience with reading scientific papers before, this will cover the content of each section of a paper, and we’ll highlight how this could feed into your power to analyse the paper.

Tue 10 Oct  15:00 - 16:00  (209 No. 2 Uni Gardens)

OR

Thu 26 Oct 10:00 - 11:00  (222 West Medical Building)

Hierarchies of Evidence in Medical Literature

Medical research articles usually fall somewhere in a hierarchy of specific research designs. We’ll look at what each of these involves, and how to assess the strength of a design in relation to the research question being asked.

Tue 17 Oct  15:00 - 16:00  (209 No. 2 Uni Gardens)

OR

Thu 02 Nov 10:00 - 11:00  (222 West Medical Building)

What Can You Realistically Be Expected to Critique?

You don’t have the resources to repeat someone else’s experiments in a lab, or on a population. Without validating their results step-by-step, we’ll discuss the elements of research we do expect you to critique.

Tue 24 Oct  15:00 - 16:00  (209 No. 2 Uni Gardens)

OR

Thu 09 Nov 10:00 - 11:00  (222 West Medical Building)

Great Controversies in Science

Some papers are retracted, and some are discredited without formally being withdrawn, so it’s not true to say that all scientific output is perfect. We’ll look at one or two specific examples of such papers to give you the confidence to point out flaws in published research.

Tue 31 Oct  15:00 - 16:00  (209 No. 2 Uni Gardens)

OR

Thu 16 Nov 10:00 - 11:00  (222 West Medical Building)

Critical Analysis: DIY

Contact me in advance to book a space and you’ll be supplied with a paper to read in your own time. Bring it with you ready to share your critique in an informal discussion with the rest of the group (usually fewer than 10 people).

Tue 07 Nov  15:00 - 16:00  (209 No. 2 Uni Gardens)

OR

Thu 23 Nov 10:00 - 11:00  (222 West Medical Building)