University of Glasgow Trustees

University of Glasgow Trustees

The University of Glasgow Trust is the main vehicle for philanthropic donations to the University and disburses funds for the benefit of the University.  The Trust would not exist without the hardwork of the Trustees. 

The Trustees appointed under the Trust Deed of 1984 are required to hold the Trust funds and to disburse them for the benefit of the University of Glasgow generally, but with particular regard to the following objectives:

  • Financial support for research, scholarship and teaching,
  • The promotion of academic developments generally with particular regard to the setting up of visiting fellowships,
  • The preservation or enhancement of its cultural heritage,
  • The preservation or enhancement of its physical environment,
  • The granting of financial assistance to students who are in need of assistance,
  • The provision of amenities for students with particular regard to facilities for sport and physical education,
  • The provision of residential places for students,
  • The benefit of such other charitable purposes as shall be consistent with benefiting the said University and the educational purposes connected therewith.

The current Board of Trustees include:

  • Dame Katherine Grainger (President)
  • Mrs Margaret Khnichich (Chair)
  • Professor Sir Anton Muscatelli
  • Professor Frank Coton
  • Reverend Stuart MacQuarrie