Members of the University Court 2022/2023

University Court

‌‌‌Members of the University Court 2022/23 

PositionNameRegister of interests

 Lady Rita Rae

(Student Experience Committee)

 (April 2021 - March 202) 


Principal and Vice Chancellor

Professor Sir Anton Muscatelli

(Estates Committee, Finance Committee, People & Organisational Development Committee, Nominations Committee, Remuneration Committee)

(October 2009 - September 2025)

Chancellor's Assessor

Mr Ronnie Mercer

(Estates Committee, Nominations Committee, Remuneration Committee) 

(January 2018 - October 2023) 

Assessor of the City of Glasgow Council

Cllr Susan Aitken

 (June 2017 - May 2027)

Two General Council Assessors

The General Council is a statutory body comprising all the graduates of the University of Glasgow.

Dr Christine Middlemiss  

(July 2022 - July 2026)


Stuart Hoggan

(Audit and Risk Committee)

(July 2022 - July 2026)


Five Elected Academic Staff Members (Senate Assessors)

















One Elected Professional Services (Support) Staff Member


Professor Dan Haydon   

(Finance Committee)

(1 November 2022 - 31 October 2026)


Professor Nicholas Hill 

(Information Policy & Strategy Committee, Nominations Committee, People & Organisational Development Committee)

(January 2016 - July 2023)


Professor Simon Kennedy 

(Audit & Risk Committee, Finance Committee)

(August 2017 - July 2025)


Professor Kirsteen McCue 

(Estates Committee, People & Organisational Development Committee)

(August 2017 - July 2025)


Dr Bethan Wood 

(Estates Committee, Student Experience Committee)

(September 2017 - July 2025)


Mr Christopher Kennedy  

(Estates Committee)

(August 2019 - July 2023) 


Two Trade Union Nominees

Professor Craig Daly

(Remuneration Committee)

(August 2019 - July 2023)


Paula McKerrow 

(Nominations Committee)

(August 2021 - July 2024)

President of Students’ Representative Council

Ms Rinna Vare

(Estates Committee, Finance Committee, Information Policy & Strategy Committee, Nominations Committee, Remuneration Committee)

(July 2021 - June 2023)

Assessor of Students’ Representative Council

‌Mr Theo Frater  

(October 2022 - October 2023)


Nine Co-opted members

Nicola Dandridge

(Student Experience Committee) 

(July 2022 - July 2026)


Mr David Finlayson 

(Student Experience Committee) 

(October 2017 - October 2025) 


Laic Khalique 

(Information Policy & Strategy Committee) 

(April 2021 - April 2025) 


Jonathan Loukes 

(Finance Committee, Nominations Committee) 

(December 2021 - December 2025)  


Dr June Milligan 

(People & Organisational Development Committee, Remuneration Committee)

(October 2015 - October 2023)


Ms Elspeth Orcharton 

(Finance Committee, Audit and Risk Committee)‌

(October 2016 - September 2024) 


Ms Elizabeth Passey (Convener of Court)

(Finance Committee, Nominations Committee, Remuneration Committee) 

(August 2016 - July 2024)


Shan Saba 

(People & Organisational Development Committee)

(April 2022 - April 2026)


Mr Gavin Stewart (Finance Committee, Information Policy & Strategy Committee)

(April 2017 - March 2025)


Chief Operating Officer and University Secretary Dr David Duncan  Register

The role of the Court

The Court is the governing body of the University, and is sometimes compared to the Board of Directors of a company. Its powers have been defined over a number of years, commencing in 1858 when the Court was first established, and are set out in a series of Acts of Parliament, the Universities (Scotland) Acts 1858-1966, and subsidiary regulations and ordinances.

The Court has ultimate responsibility for the deployment of resources in the University and for the strategic plans of the institution. It also has a monitoring role in relation to the overall performance of the University, and it holds the Principal accountable for the effective and efficient management of the University. It is responsible for the well-being of staff. With the Senate, it is responsible for the well-being of students and for the reputation of the University. The Court has 25 members and meets in full session five times a year.