Teaching Excellence Awards

The Teaching Excellence Awards (TEA) recognise and celebrate members of staff whose teaching and contribution to learning is of a particularly high standard. As such, they are an indicator of esteem based on peer recognition of excellence in relation to teaching.

Teaching Excellence Awards winners 2022 - 23

College of Arts

No nominations received

College of Medical, Veterinary and Life Sciences

University Award

Life Sciences Accreditation Team (Team Award)

Medical School Access Programme Team (Team Award)

College Award

Mathis Riehle (Individual Excellence)

Sports Science Team (Team Award)

College of Science and Engineering

University Award

Ms Jennifer MacDougall (Individual Excellence)

Dr Caroline Mullenbroich (Early Career)

Dr Beth Paschke (Individual Excellence)

College Award

Dr Edward Curley (Early Career)

Dr Emma Waters (Early Career)

College of Social Sciences

College Award

Dr Jeremy Law (Individual Excellence)

Dr Miriam Snellgrove (Early Career)

PGDE Maths Team (Team Award)


Teaching Excellence Network

The membership of the Teaching Excellence Network includes Teaching Excellence Award winners as well as Principal and Senior Fellows of RET and/or HEA. The Network members aim to share practice and contribute to discussions within the University on matters relating to learning and teaching. Members have the opportunity to explore innovative practice and join collaborative projects. In addition, they share information on forthcoming learning and teaching strategy, policy and practice.

Student-led teaching awards

The Students' Representative Council (SRC) has run student-led teaching awards since 2010. Details of these Student Teaching Awards (STAs) are now available on the SRC website.