# **University of Glasgow**

# University Court – Wednesday 13 February 2019

#### Communications to Court from the meeting of the Council of Senate held on 7 February 2019

## Dr Jack Aitken, Director, Senate Office

#### (All matters are for noting)

## 1. Intimations

The Council of Senate stood in silence to mark its respect for former members of Senate whose deaths had been announced during the session:

#### **Professor Gavin Arneil**

Professor Gavin Arneil died on 21 January 2018 aged 94. Professor Arneil was a graduate of the University and was a Professor of Child Health from 1968 until his retirement in 1988. Professor Arneil played a leading role in the field of paediatric nephrology and was responsible for setting up the first regional referral unit for children with renal disease in the UK at the Royal Hospital for Sick Children in Glasgow in 1950. In recognition of his outstanding contributions to child health, Professor Arneil was awarded the St Mungo Prize (Glasgow's highest civic award) in 1987.

#### **Professor David Donnison**

Professor David Donnison died on 28 April 2018 at the age of 92. He was Professor of Town and Regional Planning at the University between 1980 and 1991 and was one of the most prominent figures in British social policy in the second half of the twentieth century. At Glasgow, he was the initial Co-Director of the Scottish Housing Research Group (1982) that evolved into the UK's national Centre for Housing Research and ultimately the Department of Urban Studies. Throughout his career, Professor Donnison received four honorary doctorates and was awarded a Lifetime Achievement Award by the Social Policy Association in 2008.

#### **Professor Patrick Reilly**

Professor Patrick Reilly, who died on 15 July 2018 at the age of 86, was a professor and former Head of the Department of English Literature at Glasgow University. Professor Reilly is remembered as a distinguished academic and enlightening educator who inspired generations of students with his knowledge and love of literature.

#### **Professor Joe Thomson**

Professor Joe Thomson died on 12 May 2018 at the age of 70. Professor Thomson joined the University in 1991 as Regius Chair of law and was one of the leading legal scholars of his generation. In 2000, he was appointed to the role of Scottish Law Commissioner and was director of the Scottish Universities' Law Institute from 2000 – 2009. In his retirement, he continued to make an active contribution to academia, serving as editor of the Juridical Review until 2017.

#### **Professor Paul Younger**

Professor Paul Younger, who held the University of Glasgow's Rankine Chair in the School of Engineering, died on 21 April 2018 at the age of 55. Professor Younger was an

internationally-renowned hydrogeologist and environmental engineer. Paul was a member of staff at the University of Glasgow from August 2012 to March 2017. As a Senate Assessor on the University Court, and a member of the Estates Committee, he made a significant contribution to the governance of the University. He became a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering in 2007, and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh in 2016.

# 2. Student Experience Committee: Report of the meeting held on 17 January 2019

The Council of Senate received a report from the Student Experience Committee (SEC) meeting held on 17 January 2019. The Council of Senate noted the following items from the Committee's report:

- Student Experience Committee Revised Remit
- Update on Transitions Working Group activity
- Change of Title for University Calendar
- Student Services Review: Consultant Report on Support for Student Services
- Counselling and Psychological Services (CAPS) New Online Platform to Support Mental Health
- Student Experience Committee Action Plan Tracker
- Away Day November 2018
- Joint Away Day with Learning and Teaching Committee 31 May 2019

# 3. Education Policy and Strategy Committee – Report of meeting held on 13 December 2018

The Council of Senate received the report from the Education Policy and Strategy Committee (EdPSC) meeting held on 13 December 2018. The following items have been highlighted for Court's attention:

## 3.1 Learning and Teaching Strategy Review

A paper was received from Professor Frank Coton (Vice-Principal, Academic and Educational Innovation) and Professor Moira Fischbacher-Smith (Assistant Vice-Principal, Learning and Teaching) which presented the outcomes of a mid-term review of the University's Learning and Teaching Strategy and specified the next steps required to ensure comprehensive delivery of the Strategy. Areas identified for particular attention included:

- Curriculum innovation (including internationalisation of the curriculum)
- Graduate attributes
- Redesign of some systems and processes

## 3.2 Working Group on Graduate Attributes

EdPSC established a new short-life working group to improve support for student engagement with graduate attribute development across the University. The Working Group would report to EdPSC.

## 3.3 ELIR4: Update on progress to date

The ELIR review team visited the University for a one-day planning visit on 23 January 2019, with the aim of assessing the decisions the University had taken around contextualising the

Reflective Analysis (RA), and to determine the focus for the main review visit which would take place from the 18<sup>th</sup> of March for five days. The full ELIR review team would visit the University and meet with key institutional contacts, a group of staff and a group of students.

## 4. Clerk of Senate's Business

#### 4.1 Report of the Honorary Degrees Committee

The Clerk of Senate reported that the following acceptances had been received from nominees to receive Honorary Degrees in 2019:

#### **DOCTOR OF ENGINEERING (DEng)**

Craig CLARKE Clyde Space Ltd

Karen DINARDO DP Group

Professor Dame Ann DOWLING University of Cambridge

Professor Anne NEVILLE Professor of Tribology and Surface Engineering University of Leeds

## DOCTOR OF LAWS

Sir Iain MACLEOD Legal Adviser to the Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Lady Rita RAE Scottish Lawyer and Senator of the College of Justice

## **DOCTOR OF LETTERS (DLitt)**

Mary BRENNAN Arts Journalism and contemporary culture

Sarah DRUMMOND Snook Design

Katharine VINER Editor in Chief, Guardian

Jackie WYLIE Artistic Director and Chief Executive National Theatre of Scotland

## DOCTOR OF SCIENCE (DSc)

Professor Gary FIRESTEIN Dean and Associate Vice Chancellor of Translational Medicine University of California Professor James GARDEN Director of Edinburgh Surgery Online University of Edinburgh

Dr John Iain GLEN Glen Pharma Limited

Mark LOGAN Technologist and business leader

# DOCTOR OF THE UNIVERSITY (DUniv)

Professor Dame Janet BEER Vice Chancellor University of Liverpool

Jayne-Anne GADHIA CEO Virgin Money

Bernard HIGGINS Chairman of the Board of the National Galleries of Scotland

Professor Sir David OMAND Vice President of RUSI

Kevin SNEADER Global Managing Partner, Hong Kong, McKinsey & Company

Sabir ZAZAI CEO, Scottish Refugee Council

## **DOCTOR OF THE UNIVERSITY (DUniv) - Dumfries**

Andrew WALLS FRCS Convenor of the Crichton Foundation

The names noted above of those who had accepted the offer of an Honorary Degree were now in the public domain.

Further replies were awaited and would be reported to the next meeting of the Council of Senate.

## 5. University Court: Communications from the meeting held on 12 December 2018

The Council of Senate received and noted the report from the University Court meeting held on 12 December 2018. The following items were included for information:

- Report from the Principal
- Report from the University Secretary
- Communications from Meeting of Council of Senate on 6 December 2018