The MVLS Research Impact Support Team

The MVLS Research Impact Support team's primary focus is to enable a culture of impact within College research. We do this by helping the College management and research staff to identify and recognise opportunities for impact—wider societal benefits or changes—arising from research. We also help researchers to evidence and articulate those impacts. In addition, we deliver or facilitate wider training to support these aims. Our mission is to ensure that valuable opportunities for impact are not missed for want of coordinated effort across the College research support teams. We liaise with the College Translational Research Initiative (TRI) team, the Transforming Research Management (TRM) team and the Business Intelligence team, as well as with support services in Research & Innovation and our counterpart research impact support teams in the other three Colleges.  

The team comprises:

The College Research Impact Officers both support, and are supported by, the MVLS Impact Champions. Each School has one or more research staff members with experience of impact who can provide a first port of call for impact questions. Impact Champions support the College Research Impact Officers by helping to identify new impact opportunities within their areas. We liaise with Impact Champion(s) from each School on an ad hoc basis, or at least quarterly, to review opportunities and to identify and agree on actions to support those opportunities. 

MVLS Impact Champions

 

INSTITUTE/SCHOOLIMPACT CHAMPION(S)

Biodiversity, Animal Health & Comparative Medicine

School of Veterinary Medicine

Prof. Roman Biek (Roman.Biek@glasgow.ac.uk)
Dr Collette Britton (Collette.Britton@glasgow.ac.uk)
Dr Tiziana Lembo (Tiziana.Lembo@glasgow.ac.uk)
Prof. Brian Willett (Brian.Willett@glasgow.ac.uk)

Cancer Sciences

Prof. Nicol Keith (Nicol.Keith@glasgow.ac.uk)

Cardiovascular & Medical Sciences

Prof. Christian Delles (Christian.Delles@glasgow.ac.uk)
Prof. Pardeep Jhund (Pardeep.Jhund@glasgow.ac.uk)
Prof. Godfey Smith (Godfrey.Smith@glasgow.ac.uk)

Health & Wellbeing

Dr Sara MacDonald (Sara.Macdonald@glasgow.ac.uk)
Dr Kathleen Boyd (Kathleen.Boyd@glasgow.ac.uk)

Infection, Immunity & Inflammation

Prof. Neil Basu (Neil.Basu@glasgow.ac.uk)

School of Medicine, Dentistry & Nursing

Dr Emilie Combet (TBC) (Emilie.CombetAspray@glasgow.ac.uk)
Dr David Conway (TBC) (David.Conway@glasgow.ac.uk)

Molecular, Cell & Systems Biology

TBC 

School of Neuroscience & Psychology

Prof. Brian Morris (Brian.Morris@glasgow.ac.uk)

 

Other sources of research impact support

The MVLS Research Impact Support team can help coordinate activities that cross several support services both within MVLS and across the University. Each service supports activities at different points in the research-impact lifecycle. We share good links with our colleagues in these services, and will signpost to those best placed to address your needs.