MVLS team wins BBSRC Innovator of the Year Award

Professor Sarah Cleaveland's team, in the Institute of Biodiversity, Animal Health and Comparative Medicine won the BBSRC (Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research BBSRC colleagues with Prof Sarah CleavelandCouncil) Innovator of the Year Award in the category for International Impact. The team, which includes Professor Dan Haydon, Dr Jo Halliday, Dr Tiziana Lembo and Dr Richard Reeve, won the award for their work relating to the development of new strategies to control livestock diseases in Tanzania, including foot-and-mouth and malignant catarrhal fever. As part of the prize, the team were presented with £10,000 to help towards future research projects. The funds will be used both for sustaining the foot-and-mouth surveillance platform in northern Tanzania, and to hold community workshops to discuss implementation of disease control measures, including livestock vaccination programmes.

First published: 31 July 2017