College of Arts’ academics named among new Royal Society of Edinburgh Fellows

Issued: Tue, 30 Mar 2021 10:00:00 BST

Royal Society of Edinburgh Logo 2021 Black and White

Three academics at the College of Arts are among seven University of Glasgow academics announced as new Fellows of the Royal Society of Edinburgh.

The new Arts Fellows - Professor Jennifer Smith, Professor Faye Hammill and Professor Ian Brown, all based in the School of Critical Studies - will join the RSE’s current roll of around 1,600 leading thinkers and practitioners from Scotland and beyond, whose work has had a  significant impact on our nation.

Professor Roibeard Ó Maolalaigh, Vice-Principal and Head of the College of Arts said: “On behalf of the College of Arts, I would like to congratulate Jennifer, Faye and Ian on their election as Fellows of the Royal Society of Edinburgh.

"These Fellowships are richly deserved and are testament to the outstanding achievement and academic excellence of our talented colleagues.”

The RSE - Scotland's National Academy - announced a total of 87 new Fellows. This year’s cohort includes many new Fellows who have made a positive impact during the global Covid-19 pandemic: either as a result of their academic research or through their contribution to arts or for the role they have played in communicating complex information with the public.

Those who are elected to the Fellowship have undergone a rigorous assessment of their achievements, professional standing and the contribution they and their work make to wider society.

The seven University of Glasgow Fellows are: 

  • Professor Tara BrendleProfessor and Head of Mathematics, School of Mathematics & Statistics, College of Science and Engineering.
  • Professor Ian Brown,Honorary Senior Research Fellow, School of Critical Studies, College of Arts.
  • Professor Heather Ferguson, Professor of Medical Entomology and Disease Ecology, Institute of Biodiversity, Animal Health & Comparative Medicine, College of Medical, Veterinary & Life Sciences.
  • Dr Nikolaj Gadegaard, Professor of Biomedical Engineering, James Watt School of Engineering, College of Science and Engineering.
  • Professor Faye Hammill, Professor of English Literature, School of Critical Studies, College of Arts.
  • Professor Matthias MartiProfessor of Molecular Parasitology, Institute of Infection, Immunity & Inflammation, College of Medical, Veterinary & Life Sciences.
  • Professor Jennifer Smith, Professor of Sociolinguistics, School of Critical Studies, College of Arts.

Among those who also became an RSE Fellow is UofG's honorary graduate and friend of the College of Arts Dr Vincent Deighan, the Comic Book Artist (also known by the pen name Frank Quitely).

Professor Dame Anne Glover, President of The Royal Society of Edinburgh said: “As Scotland’s national academy we recognise excellence across a diverse range of expertise and experience, and its effect on Scottish society. This impact is particularly clear this year in the latest cohort of new Fellows which includes scientists who are pioneering the way we approach the coronavirus; those from the arts who have provided the rich cultural experience we have all been missing, and some who have demonstrated strong leadership in guiding their organisations and communities through this extraordinary time.

“Through uniting these great minds from different walks of life, we can discover creative solutions to some of the most complex issues that Scotland faces. A warm welcome is extended to all of our new Fellows.”