Annette Kuhn Essay Award

Annette Kuhn Essay Award

The Annette Kuhn Essay Award was established in 2014, in recognition of Professor Kuhn’s outstanding contribution to Screen and her wider commitment to the development of screen studies and screen theory.

The award offers £1,000 to the author/s of the best debut article in film and television studies, as judged by the Screen editors and members of the journal’s editorial advisory board.


Whilst there are no requirements in terms of specific content or methodological approach (with the caveat that it should provide an original contribution to the theoretical or empirical exploration of screen media), the criteria for selection are as follows:

  • it is the debut journal article, in any language, by the scholar
  • the essay has been published in a refereed journal
  • the publication date falls between 1 January - 31 December of the previous year*
  • the essay is in English

* i.e. date of first publication. This could be an online publication date in advance of a print issue.

We will still consider your debut article under the following circumstances, although we request you flag these up in your covering email:

  • You have previously published a different article as a book chapter
  • You have previously published a different article in a journal under special circumstances, such as an undergraduate essay prize where you did not compete in an open, blind peer-reviewed forum
  • You have previously published a conference report, book review or similar short piece in a peer-reviewed journal

You are not eligible to enter if your article was previously published in another language then subsequently reprinted in an English-language journal within the relevant calendar year. Please contact Screen if you are unsure whether your article is eligible for submission.

The 2017 competition is now closed and the winner will be announced at the Screen conference on Friday, 23 June, 2017. To receive an alert when the competition opens again in autumn 2017, please email a request to

Read about our previous winners.