Advisory Panel

Advisory Panel

 The School of Law appointed its Advisory Panel in January 2010. All of the advisory panel representatives are distinguished members of the legal profession in Scotland, and bring a wealth of experience and knowledge to the School.

The role of the Advisory Panel is to raise the profile of the School, and advise and comment both on the School's current activity and future initiatives. The School of Law is honoured to have such notable and important members of the Scottish legal profession advising and guiding on its activity, in its goal to be one of the leading Law Schools in the UK, and internationally.

Advisory Panel Members

Mr Gilbert M. Anderson
Gilbert Anderson is the  Regional Senior Partner for Scotland in DAC Beachcroft.  He is also a past Dean of the Royal Faculty of Procurators in Glasgow and past Regional Representative (Scotland) of the Forum of Insurance Lawyers (FOIL).

The Hon Lord Armstrong
Lord Armstrong, was appointed to the Court of Session in February 2013. A graduate of the University of Glasgow, he was admitted to the Scottish Bar in 1986 and appointed Queen's Counsel in 2000. He was Standing Junior Counsel to the Department of Social Security from 1998 to 2000 and served as Crown Counsel from 2000 to 2003. Lord Armstrong served as Vice-Dean of the Faculty of Advocates from 2008-2013.

Mr David A. R. Ballantine
David Ballantine is a partner at Mitchells Roberton, and is also a trustee to the James Wood Bequest Fund which the School of Law holds annually.

Mr Paul Cackette
Paul Cackette is the Deputy Solicitor to the Scottish Government with responsibility for Transport, Culture & Procurement; Rural Affairs; Environment; Local Authorities and Development; and Children, Education, Enterprise and Pensions Divisions of the Scottish Government Legal Directorate.

The Rt. Hon. Lady Hazel Cosgrove CBE, Q.C.
Lady Cosgrove was appointed to the Court of Session in 1996, and in 2003, she was appointed to the Inner House of the Court of Session and sworn of Her Majesty's Privy Council. She received a CBE in 2004 for services to the criminal justice system in Scotland.

Mr Mike Dailly
Mike Dailly is Principal Solicitor of Govan Law Centre. He is also chairman of the Active Learning Centre –  a small international human rights agency based at the University of Glasgow.

Mr Ian Forrester Q.C.
Ian Forrester co-founded the Brussels EC law firm of Forrester & Norall with Christopher Norall in 1981, which subsequently became Forrester Norall & Sutton and merged with White & Case in 1998.  Mr Forrester is an Honorary Professor of Law at the University of Glasgow.

The Rt. Hon. Lord Gill
Lord Gill was appointed Lord President and Lord Justice General in June 2012, having held the offie of Lord Justice Clerk  since 2001. He is the former Chair of the Scottish Law Commission and Scotland's longest serving judge..

Mr Patrick Layden Q.C. T.D.
Patrick Layden Q.C. T.D. was appointed as a full-time Commissioner in September 2008.   In 2003 he was appointed Deputy Solicitor to the Scottish Government.

Mr Roy Martin Q.C.
Roy Martin has been a practising member of the Bar since 1976. He served as Dean of the Faculty of Advocates between 2004 and 2007, and as a member of the Judicial Appointments Board for Scotlandbetween 2007 and 2010.
Mr Martin is an Honorary Professor of Law at the University of Glasgow, and a trustee of the Clark Foundation.

The Rt. Hon. Lord Reed
Lord Reed was appointed a Justice of the Supreme Court in 2012, having previously been a judge of the Court of Session since 1998. He was appointed to the Inner House in 2008. He sat as an ad hoc judge of the European Court of Human Rights during 1999. Lord Reed is an Honorary Professor of Law at the University of Glasgow.

Sheriff Alayne Swanson
Alayne Swanson was a consultant in the Commercial Dispute Resolution Department at Maclay, Murray and Spens LLP. Formerly Head of the Department, her specialist areas included contractual disputes, arbitration, employment law intellectual property, media law and insolvency. A former President of the Society of Solicitor Advocates, she was appointed a Sheriff in 2010 and sits at Glasgow.

Sheriff Principal James A. Taylor
Sheriff James Taylor was admitted as a solicitor in 1977 and as a solicitor advocate in 1993.  Appointed Sheriff of Lothian and Borders at Edinburgh in 1998, he transferred to Glasgow and Strathkelvin in 1999 where he was designated Commercial Sheriff. He retired as Sheriff Principal in May 2011 but still remains active within the courts.

Ms Lesley Thomson
Lesley Thomson is the Solicitor General for Scotland. Previous to this she was the area procurator fiscal for Glasgow, having joined the Crown Office and Procurator Fiscal service in 1985. In 2002 she was appointed Head of the Criminal Confiscation Unit and in 2003 Head of the Financial Crime Unit at Crown Office. She was made district procurator fiscal, Edinburgh and Haddington in 2006, and became interim area procurator fiscal, Lothian and Borders, in May 2007.