The Kelvingrove Review

The Kelvingrove Review

The Kelvingrove Review (ISSN 1757-2649) is a sister publication to eSharp.  In line with eSharp's commitment to publishing innovative and rigorous cross-disciplinary academic research, The Kelvingrove Review offers a site for critical analysis of recent scholarly work in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and education. Each issue has a theme, often linked to that of the current issue of eSharp

All issues are available for browsing and downloading from the links to the left. Our next issue will be launched in June 2017.

If you would like to get involved with eSharp or The Kelvingrove Review we always welcome new members and contributors. We can be contacted at esharp@gla.ac.uk.

Call for Reviewers

Call for Reviewers

TKR Call for Reviewers

The call for reviewers for The Kelvingrove Review's 16th Issue is now closed. This issue, on the theme of Rise and Fall, will be launched together with the 25th issue of eSharp in June 2017.

The Kelvingrove Review is an online academic book review journal focusing on critical analysis of contemporary and innovative scholarly work in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and education. All reviews are by postgraduate students at the University of Glasgow, and reviewing is an excellent introduction to the publication cycle for postgraduates.

We have a number of books in need of reviewers, but we also consider non-themed reviews of scholarly work published in 2016 or 2017. We have selected an exciting list of books to match this issue’s theme, ‘Rise and Fall’:

Thomas Muir of Huntershill: Essays for the 21st Century, edited by Gerard Carruthers and Don Martin (Zeticula, December 2016) http://www.thomasmuir.co.uk/bookofessays.html

The Jesus and Mary Chain's Psychocandy, by Paula Meija (Bloomsbury, October 2016) http://www.bloomsbury.com/uk/the-jesus-and-mary-chains-psychocandy-9781628929508/

Rave and Its Influence on Art And Culture, edited by Nav Haq (Black Dog Publishing, June 2016) http://www.blackdogonline.com/rave/  

Staying with the Trouble: Making Kin in the Chthulucene, by Donna J. Haraway (Duke University Press, September 2016) https://www.dukeupress.edu/staying-with-the-trouble

The Rise and Fall of the Right of Silence, by Hannah Quirk (Routledge, 2017) https://www.routledge.com/The-Rise-and-Fall-of-the-Right-of-Silence/Quirk/p/book/9780415547710

Fall Narratives: An Interdisciplinary Perspective, edited by Zohar Hadromi-Allouche and Aine Larkin (Routledge, November 2016) https://www.routledge.com/Fall-Narratives-An-Interdisciplinary-Perspective/Hadromi-Allouche-Larkin/p/book/9781472483720

Crusade and Jihad: Origins, History, Aftermath, by Malcolm Lambert (Profile Books, April 2016) https://profilebooks.com/crusade-and-jihad.html

Prescription and Tradition in Language: Establishing Standards Across Time and Space, edited by Ingrid Tieken-Boon van Ostade and Carol Percy (Multilingual Matters, November 2016) http://www.multilingual-matters.com/display.asp?isb=9781783096503

If you are interested in reviewing one of these books, or if you have another book in mind, please see the guide for reviewers on our website www.glasgow.ac.uk/tkr and send an email to esharp@gla.ac.uk with the following information:

  -  Your name and contact details (student email)

-  The course you are enrolled in

-  The title of the book you would like to review

-  A brief biography where you describe your research interests

Books will be assigned to reviewers on the basis of relevance to field of interest. Closing date for registration of interest is the 20th of February 2017, and reviewers will be contacted with further details within a few days of the closing date. Demand for books is normally high.

We look forward to hearing from you!

 

Guide for Reviewers

Guide for Reviewers

If you are interested in becoming a reviewer, you need to be registered as a postgraduate student at the University of Glasgow and must be able to collect the book from either the Glasgow or Crichton campus.

Non-themed reviews - We accept unsolicited reviews of academic texts in the arts, humanities, social sciences and education at all times of year. Reviews will be considered for the next available publication date.

Themed reviews - Twice yearly we send out calls for reviewers for specific books, which always tie in with the most recent eSharp theme. You must be able to collect the book from either the Glasgow or Crichton campus.

All reviews should:

  • be written in English or Scots
  • be original work of around 1,000 words (plus or minus 10%)
  • relate to academic texts published within the last 2 years, preferably within the last year 
  • follow the eSharp style guide, which can be found here
  • themed reviews should adhere to the Kelvingrove Review submission deadline