Rector announced tonight

Rector announced tonight

Issued: Tue, 21 Mar 2017 06:45:00 GMT

Voting continues today in the University's Rectorial election. The result is expected to be announced this evening between 5pm and 5.30pm in the Boyd Orr lecture theatre 1. 

The Rector is elected by the students of the University to represent their interests. He or she is also, ex-officio, the Chairperson of the University Court, the body which administers the resources of the University. The Rector is not active in University strategy or policy-making. The role is principally as spokesperson and representative for student issues.

The election is being held under the single transferable vote system. The University of Glasgow Students' Representative Council (SRC) originally announced twelve nominations. 

Watch GUST News campaign report.

Aamer Anwar

Dr Leif Azzopardi (withdrew)

Brace Belden

Sir Vince Cable

Lady Hazel Cosgrove

Graeme Eddolls (withdrew)

Thomas Hind

John Lindberg

Duncan Logie

Professor Jordan Peterson

Jonathan JJ Tease

Milo Yiannopolous

The current Rector is Edward Snowden and his term of office finishes in April 2017. The candidates, or their representatives, who took part in last Thursday's Rectorial hustings are pictured here. From left to right: Brace Belden's representative Joseph Lee, Jonathan JJ Tease, Thomas Hind's representative Ryan Fox, Sir Vince Cable, Aamer Anwar, Cameron Mackay representative for John Lindberg, Duncan Logie and Erin Ross who spoke for Lady Hazel Cosgrove. (Jordan Peterson's representative was not present for the group photograph. Milo Yiannopolous was not represented at the hustings.) 

An image of the candidates for Rector, or their nominees, who took part in the hustings event on Thursday 16 March.

Image of nine of the speakers at the Rectorial Hustings